Reader’s Journals on the Wiki

wikispaces

Today in class (at least in two of the periods), we had some thoughtful evaluative discussion about using the wiki for reader’s journals. I’d like to have a record of some of your thoughts and also give students in the two periods that didn’t have a chance to discuss the opportunity to weigh in.

Some questions to get you thinking: What did you think were the positives and negatives of using the wiki for reader’s journals? How did you like the wiki as compared to the blog? Was there anything you wished you could have done on the wiki but were not able to do? Was there anything you think you gained from recording your responses on the wiki instead of writing them on paper and turning them into me?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

54 Comments on “Reader’s Journals on the Wiki”

  1. hannahc1 Says:

    I really like the Wiki o much better because you have your own page, and you don’t have to go onto the blog and count how many you have done, because you could miss some. Even thought the Wiki needs to flip around everywhere, it still is easier to really go to the person you want to comment on.

  2. ivanap Says:

    I like the wiki better than the blog because you can have your own personal page. You can customize it, and it is easier to keep track of how many comments you have posted. You can also discuss amongst one another one one page. I also liked the questions that were posted. They got you to state your own opinion and describe certain questions in detail. It made you think a lot and get more into the book. I really enjoyed using the wiki.

    Ivana 🙂

  3. kristina Says:

    I like the wiki. My favorite part about it is that it is fast!!!! I really dont like the blog as much because of how slow it is!! Lastly, I like how you can comment on other people’s blogs! I think the wiki is eaiser to use!
    🙂

  4. bethanym1 Says:

    I like the wiki better than the blog becuase it is instant. But I wish that the comments could be faster, but the wiki is over all better.

    🙂

  5. rianas Says:

    I’m kind of half and half. I like the wiki because you can make it your own, like, change the color and the font and make it however you want. However, the wiki also had some problems with saving and freezing for me. Also, on the blog, everyone’s response was RIGHT THERE, whereas on the wiki you had to go searching. One last thing I like about the wiki, though, you could go back and revise your prompt to fix spelling or grammar mistakes, and on the blog once you post, it was permanent.

    -rIaNa 🙂

  6. samif1 Says:

    I agree with Riana that on the blog, everyone’s responses are right there on the blog, but, all in all, I prefer the wiki because everyone has their own page that you can customize the color, font, and more on. I think that this is cool. I also think that the wiki goes much faster and that being able to edit the wiki when you are done is really cool. Lastly, I really liked using the wiki for our reading journals, as opposed to paper because it was a cool way of doing a journal and we had the ability to see other peoples’ pages and they could see ours which I thought was really cool.

  7. zakd Says:

    The positives of the wiki was that it was better to look at then this boring text in the blog. Also if you made a mistake you could just go back and fix it. Like now asdfhjafhsd, oops I can’t fix it. Do you see what I mean? Good. But some negitives were that even thought the wiki was good, all websites mess up. There were still glitches and mess ups in the wiki too. I like the wiki way better than the blog. The blog is all boring where the wiki has something to live for. But I wish that the wiki could copy and paste text. That way you could have any font you want. Also the blog can copy and paste. But the bad thing is that it goes back to this terrible font. The only thing is gained from doing the wiki was that I get more free time. When I turn something into you it’s usually something that has to be handwritten which takes forever. Doing a wiki on the computer is way easier.

    Zak

  8. delaneyv Says:

    I like the wiki a lot more becuase its alot easier just to post adn change errors I agree with Zak. 👿

  9. katiesh Says:

    On the wiki, you get your own page and you can make it look however you want. However it takes much longer to get to your page on the wiki. On the blog all you do is scroll down and everybody’s answers are there. However I like that on the wiki we get to pick what days we respond on and what prompts we respond to. I think I liked the wiki better because you could do more with it…but I like being able to make emoticons on the blog. 😆

    ~Katie S.

  10. delaneyv Says:

    I like the wiki a lot more becuase its alot easier just to post adn change errors I agree with Zak. Also the blog is very pretty but the wiki is more make it your own kind of thing.

  11. maxgor Says:

    I like the wiki more than the blog because I think the wiki is more exciting and that the log is much more boring and slower. I like the features that the wiki has like the choice of commenting on somebody else blog. I enjoy having my own page on the wiki and I hope to keep the wiki becaaus it will save time and it will be more exciting.

  12. rachelt1 Says:

    I personally did not like the wikispace. There are some “positive” parts about it though. It gives you the chance to create your very own page and have your very own comment box. I think that this is a good idea because it will keeps things more organized. A negative is that when you are editing on the wikipage, there is no spelling and grammar so you don’t know when you are spelling something wrong. I personally like having the spell check. Another negative is that it doesn’t have good security. Someone can get on and delete all of your work and that is not good! There are some positives about the word press blog too. All of the comments are together and it is easier to see them and commment on eachothers responses. I think that the blog might be a better choice because it is simple, has better security, has smileys, and is over all more organized. There is also some negatives. I agree with Zak, there aren’t any fun fonts on the blog and it makes it more…… interesting and “fit” for a 6th grader.

    ~Rachel~

  13. AlmaN Says:

    I like the wiki more because you can do a lot more things, like being able to see other peoples page and comment on them. It is also a lot easier to use mostly because its faster. You can also change the font so its overall just cooler place to post.

  14. johnra1 Says:

    The positives of the wiki was that when I needed to post a comment it was a lot faster than edublogs. Eublogs was very slow because everyone was posting and they did not have the right software to make it alot faster like wikispaces does. The blog did not have good font on the blog.

  15. caseym1 Says:

    The wiki was good and all but as with a lot of other people I don’t like that there are not many fonts that are fun or cool to look at. But even though that is bad overall the wiki isn’t bad but what bugs me a lot is that when you and somebody else are editing the page at the same time and one saves the other one gets their work wrecked and it won’t be there.

    !!!!!Casey!!!!!:D

  16. joannaw1 Says:

    I like the wiki better than this blog. It is too confusing on the blog to look for all your old posts. It was much easier to just look at your own page and to have all your comments all on 1 page.

    ♥♥♥Joanna♥♥♥

  17. tandrews Says:

    I really liked the Wikispaces because it wasn’t complicated at all, although at times it was REALLY SUPER ANNOYING when the text font/size/color of the words wouldn’t change. I like the wiki alot more than the blog because you can personalize your own page. You got to show your creativity and discover a new website and format other then just turning it in pencil and paper version.
    tory (:

  18. nickv1 Says:

    I like the blog because just because it was funner reading a book with action and suspense. also I agree with joanna. Its too confusing to keep track of how many sentences there was that you had to write two.

    NicK
    HELLO
    (mrgreen)

  19. matthewh1 Says:

    I like the wiki better than the blogs because of the individuality. You can customize you page the way you like it. You also can write funny prompts very easily. My favorite prompt was the dream one. The cons are that the internet was sometimes slow and you could accidentally lose your data. Overall I think that the wiki would beat the blog any day.

    M@tthew 🙂

  20. nyalp Says:

    I also like the Wiki better than the blog. I thought that it was easier to see everyone elses work. If you (Ms. Stewart) had not given everyone a link to everyones page then it would be difficult to respond back to someone. I like the RSS on the page because then you can read what another person said to your response rather than aving to read EVERYONES blog post in wordpress.

    ~~~Ny@1~~~

  21. alexu1 Says:

    I really liked posting to the blog. I thought it was fun and helped me look for mistakes. Wiki does not spell check so it helps me to find mistakes. I also thought that some of the prompts helped me think back to my earlier years. When there were memory promts it was hard at first but some that I answered were very easy. I also loved how we got to do a response to others it was cool, and was a way to learn and see other peoples’ thoughts. I really did like this though I like how for each book we swich off doing a different type of blog, mainly because the blogs don’t work but the way we incorporate the book. I think that then we all get a sense of different ways of Language Arts!

    ~ Alex

  22. MatthewG Says:

    I think that it was ok but there was one thing I did not like was how we had to do a prompt that was 6 sentances. That is because if you mad your point in four you still had to write 2 more when you had nothing to say. I think wordpress and wikispaces the same.

    ~Matthew 👿

  23. jayr1 Says:

    I think connecting to it was a negative but it was a good and helpful website giving us a place to talk about books. I like them both the same and I do not see much difference in them so I do not prefer one or the other. I think it could have been easier to change colors and fonts like it is on words. I think writing them on the wiki gave me some tech skills and taught me more on if I want to make a website how and I think that it would not be as fun if we did this on paper.

  24. anneg1 Says:

    I think that the Wiki is better that WordPress because the Wiki is faster and we have our own page to decorate, and design for ourselves. And on the Wiki if someone edits your page they can get in trouble because you can see who edits it. Andyou can also read other peoples just like wordpress but the Wikispaces are more succured because you have to be asked to join.
    ~Anne~
    💡

  25. annaj1 Says:

    I LOATH WORD PRESS C=. It is so slow and horrid. Wiki spaces is way better because you have your own page and stuff.

  26. collind Says:

    What did you think were the positives and negatives of using the wiki for reader’s journals? How did you like the wiki as compared to the blog? Was there anything you wished you could have done on the wiki but were not able to do? Was there anything you think you gained from recording your responses on the wiki instead of writing them on paper and turning them into me?

    I really like wikispaces so there is no con for me. The positives are that its fast, and it saves previous drafts WHICH IS AWESOME! I think wiki is faster, and more efficient than blogging. No, i don’t really like to personalize stuff so normal was fine with me. I HATE WRITING! and, I LOVE TYPING!

  27. collind Says:

    I really like wikispaces so there is no con for me. The positives are that its fast, and it saves previous drafts WHICH IS AWESOME! I think wiki is faster, and more efficient than blogging. No, i don’t really like to personalize stuff so normal was fine with me. I HATE WRITING! and, I LOVE TYPING!
    Collin

  28. minjiey Says:

    Hmm. If I had to rate the Wiki on a 1-10 scale, the Wiki would get a 8 1/2. I think the Wiki is pretty easy to navigate and also pretty fast. I also like that you can customize your page to your own unique style. WordPress is bland compared to Wiki. But, oen thing I don’t like about the Wiki is the way you have to change the font and color it is annoying! Anyways, it is better than handing in paper to Mrs. Stewart because I feel i have freedom! 😀

    ~M!N!3~

  29. celiam1 Says:

    I like the wiki better for a lot of reasons. My favorite part is that it will auto recover the wiki post (because my computer hibernates a lot) and the blog will just delete it. I think the only thing that is better about the blog is if you want to post based on someone else’s post you don’t have to go to a lot of different pages, you just look at all the blog posts on the one page.

    …..celia…..

  30. ninat1 Says:

    I really liked the wiki! Because I love to personalize, which I could do on the wiki. I think it is really cool how it saved your previouse drafts. Once I forgot to save somthing but it saved my previouse draft! Also I don’t really “enjoy” writing, but I like to type. So I think we should proceed using wikis, and not use paper and pencil!
    TOODLES 🙂
    ~*nInA tOuZoVa*~

  31. hurschp Says:

    I think that the wiki is better than the blog or writing things on paper. The reason for this is becuase the wiki is more orginized, so I can get to my page better. Plus if we have to write on paper you can’t really recieve comments from other people on how you are doing so far. Anthore reason I think the wiki is better, is because everybody has there own personal page, so they can do what they want to it.

  32. joshm1 Says:

    I thought that the Wiki was much better than the blog. First of all, I liked the fact that you had your own response page and that you could personalize that page. I also liked the fact that people could respond to what you wrote because it could shape the way you think of what you wrote. I thought it was much easier to post on the wiki than write on a sheet of paper. And finally, I thought that it would have been nicer if the wiki could be personalized more. Great job Wiki! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  33. bretth1 Says:

    I like Wiki much more because you can have your own page and customize it. Also it does not have any problems unlike the blog. The Wiki is also more fun because you can look at everyone’s pages.

  34. aylak1 Says:

    i really dont care which one we use. i mean i like the smileys on the blog, but i the way we can format our wiki page. :mrgreen: (mr. green is my favorite)

  35. alecf1 Says:

    I like the blog better. The wiki messed up all my text. Also I can see people respones right from the page on the blog.
    Alec;)

  36. kaim1 Says:

    I don’t like saying that I like one thing better than another. I really don’t see how people don’t like either…They’re both cool to me.
    So…One thing that I like on the blog is that everyone has their own comment, and we can make smileys.
    Comparing that to the wiki, we can make our own page and use any colours we want. You don’t have to look for things on the blog. Everyone is right there. What I might want to complain about is that the font is a little small, it gives me a headache!
    On the wiki, it is a little frustrating that the formatting doesn’t flow with pasting in from word on the wiki. It’s kinda cool that we can have background shading in the back of our text on the wiki too…Maybe we could do even more if we had used html format?

  37. Charlie Says:

    I think that Wiki is great! You can customize a page and your profile picture. It is very useful over break and weekends because we can talk on each others Wikis. I think it is the easiest way to talk, embed, and have fun. 😆

  38. ravenw1 Says:

    I think that the wiki is one jillion times better than the blog. The blog is terrible. You can’t fix something once you’ve submitted it. If you are looking for someone’s comment you have to look through all of them before you find it and it’s so bland.
    On the wiki you can modify things days after you wrote it, you can just click on the person’s name and then you can view all the prompts they have ever written and it’s colorful. Plus the wiki has other things you can change that make it more cool. *Deleted by Ms. Stewart* The ONLY good thing about the wordpress is the smileys!

    ~rAvEn~ 😛

  39. erinb1 Says:

    Well I liked the wiki becasue not only can you edit back you don’t have to log in every ten seconds. And you can format the colors so it is more fun. Oh and you can’t really coment on other peoples replys on this one so…yeah. I really liked working on the wiki.

  40. Kaavya Says:

    I think the wikispace and the blog are equally good. On the wikispace, you can actually change the font and color to any font that you like (Only fonts that are available on the Wikispace program though,). On the Wikispace, you can also make the font larger or smaller on the Wikispace. On the blog, the font comes in one size, and the size is very small. I agree with Kai. The small font gives me a big fat throbbing headache! (I would have really liked to use all caps on the previous sentence, but I am not allowed to for the blog.) On the blog, everything is right there, and you don’t have to go hunting for the information that you need. On the wikispace, you need to go looking for the specific page, which is a big pain. The wikispace sometimes has some problems about formatting it. You can’t copy-paste anything from the wikispace, but you can for the blog. Also, you can make a wider range of smiley faces on the blog.

    Kaavya 😳

  41. jonathanav Says:

    I believe that the Wikis better. You are able to customize and play with it. Also you can automatically pull it up and have a discussion with friends. You ca edit your work and add on to it to make it better. You can put videos and pictures to. The only thing I do not like is that to many problems come up and that it is all gray. It is still awesome any way.
    8) 😈

    Jonathan

  42. isabelleb1 Says:

    I like the wiki space better than the blog because: a) you have the freedom of changing fonts and making the page personalized and b) I have issues with logging on and loosing passwords; so I like that “you don’t have to log in every ten seconds.”-quote Erin. I like the freedom of being able to edit and I LOVE having your own page. I also like the oportunity to comment to other peoples’ pages without having to scroll up a bajillion miles. Let’s just say I like wikispaces A WHOLE lot better than the blog.

    Isabelle

  43. greggc Says:

    I believe that the wiki is better than the blog. The wiki is usually faster then the blog. Also I really like that iy allowed you to edit your post. If you make a mistake then you can edit it. This can become very helpful because you don’t have to double post all the time. The wiki has spelling check which will be very helpful at times. So far I have not seen spelling check in this blog.

  44. abbyha Says:

    I think the wikispace better than the blog. I think this because you could clearly see all the prompts you write. I think it was nice how you could pick anyday you wanted to do the prompt and know how many you did and how many you needed to do. I think it was cool how we could post comments on other peoples pages and how we could change the colors and fonts on our pages. I think this is better than turing into you on a peice of paper because it helps us learn how to use the computer in more ways.

  45. alexah1 Says:

    i liked the wiki because it was cool to change the font and size and color of the writing. i also liked the fact though that we dident have to write a response to a question every night. i thought that some of the questions were kind of hard to respond to. out of everything we had to do, i liked the wiki more than the blog even though you can make smily faces on the blog.

    Alexa 😀

  46. zoedo Says:

    I like on the Wiki you have your own page. Sometimes it is frustrating when everything like the prompt is not on one page. I also like how we could change the color of things. I wish the Wiki would save automatically. I like the Wiki beter than the blog. I like this than writing on a piece of paper becuase you can comment on other peoples responses.

  47. gmaxg Says:

    I like the wiki better because it is more personalized and you can be yourself. Also it is easier to have a conversation on the wiki because you can respond directly to a person without having to scroll down and up. The wiki is more fun in my opinion. I was able to work more efficiently as well.

  48. andrewk1 Says:

    I like the wiki because it has a lot of room and you get your own page. When you do the wiki, you can choose a time to do prompts that fits your schedule instead of having them due when you have a giant soccer tournament. Also with the Wiki, you have your own page so you don’t have to scroll all of the way up and all of the way down to get to your post or to write your prompt.

  49. varunk1 Says:

    I like the wiki better because it is personal and you can change colors, to make it look interesting. Also on the blog, since everything is black and white, if you write a long prompt, it looks boring and you don’t want to read. But on the wiki the colors make it more interesting. Also on the blog Mrs. Stewart has to read so much stuff, (it seems like it) that you might skip one because there is ALOT. Also, overall the wiki is funner to do!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen:

    VaRuN

    :mrgreen:

  50. ryanm1 Says:

    I like the wiki better because it is alot easier to post and do stuff. I like the fact that you can get your own page. You can change colors and haver different fonts on the wiki that you can’t have on the blog. I hate the blog so much because it is boring. So over all i like the wicky so much better.

    Ryan McDonald

  51. sydneyt1 Says:

    After my little venting moment about the seating, my doctor told me to keep my venting and medicine intake to a minimum. So Iam going to keep this one short. I don’t really think I have had any problems with either posting option (wiki or posting to the blog). Except for when I had trouble with my password in wordpress which has been currently resolved. Both are pretty, somewhat, somehow, reliable. But,……………..one good thing about the wiki is that you can have your own personal page. But I guess that could be insulting because I am on wordpress now, so ……………….Well folks, it looks like our time is up so…………. bye bye now, don’t let the door hit you on your way out! 🙂

    Thoughts shareed by ~`SyDnEy

  52. ethank1 Says:

    I liked both. The blog i thought was easier to use, but it didn’t have any of the fun stuff the wiki had. Besides smiles. One of the troubles i had with the wiki was that you had to open 2 seperate pages , one for writing and one for looking at the prompt. Unless you had like photographic memory or the like than it was hard to navigate. Also, the same thing with viewing other. On the blog you can just scroll up or down to read some. On the wiki you would have to read individual pages. These are my opinions.
    -MCHAMMER (ethan):D

  53. carolinew1 Says:

    For me I like the wiki a lot better one of the reasons are that the WordPress is to slow. Another reason is that wiki you’re have your own page and it is a lot more organized. Overall the wiki is a better place to post your comments 

    ~Caroline

  54. coliny1 Says:

    It does not matter to me if we use the blog or the wiki. I am not really into all that fancy stuff with the faunt, so i really don’t care which site we use. I am glad to go along with the majority of the class, but let me know that we are voting first.

    Colin


Leave a Reply

