Just for Fun: Thanksgiving

untitledAbraham Lincoln established Thanksgiving as a national holiday in 1863. By law, the holiday is celebrated on the fourth Thursday in November. Here is an interesting resource on American Indian Perspectives on Thanksgiving from the Museum of the American Indian in Washington, DC.

Do your family or friends celebrate Thanksgiving? If so, what sorts of traditions do your family or friends have?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

8 Comments on “Just for Fun: Thanksgiving”

  1. shannons1 Says:

    Most of my friends and family do celebrate Thanksgiving. My family has a tradition evry year. 1 year we have my dad’s side of the family come down here. The last time my dad’s side came down we rode down my driveway (very steep) in little cars and stuff. I think that will be a tradition for now on. Then the next year we go up to have Thanksgiving with my mom’s side of the family, in Maryland or Florida. What i mean by Florida is Disney world, we go down there and evryone on my mom’s side visits Disney world. This doesn’t happen every time we visit with my mom’s side though, if we dont go to Disney world we go to my Grandma’s house. This year we plan to have dad’s side come down, i love thanksgiving ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. rianas Says:

    All of my friends and family celebrate Thanksgiving. We don’t really have a tradition, though. Most of the time, we either go up to New York to celebrate it with my mom’s side, of head down to Atlanta to spend it with my dad’s side. This year, however, we are just goig to celebrate it alone with my grandma who lives nearby. I can’t wait for Thanksgiving!

    -Riana

  3. Kaavya Says:

    My family doesn’t celebrate Thanksgiving, but we do something similar to the traditional American Thanksgiving on a festival called Diwali (di-vaa-lee).On this festival, all the family members in the whole extended family (mom’s and dad’s side) come together and burst firecrackers, light lamps, and eat during the course of the day. This year, though, I have been lucky enough to receive the opportunity to experience a traditional Thanksgiving dinner. My dad’s friend has invited us over to his house for Thanksgiving dinner this year. My family doesn’t know if there will be any vegetarian food, so we will probably eat before we leave. (Note: by family, I mean mom, dad, and I;not the whole extended family.)

    From,

    Kaavya A.

  4. MsStewart Says:

    Kaavya,
    That’s cool that you celebrate Diwali! I’m a vegetarian, too, and it’s sometimes hard to find things to eat at my family’s Thanksgiving dinner, even the green beans have meat in them. Often, I’ll make something vegetarian to share with everyone.
    Ms. Stewart

  5. alexu1 Says:

    I do celebrate Thanksgiving. We usually eat around lunch time. This isn’t really something required for our religion, we just like doing this. I think we do this most of the time because we don’t want the food to get cold. Or maybe because we like to do it while it’s light outside. Another tradition is we go around the table and say what we are thankful for. One year I said that I was thankful for a pink frog that was a stuff animal and only my older sister knew what I was talking about. We also set the table more special for this holiday.

    Happy Thanksgiving 6th Grade Students and Teachers

    ~ Alex

  6. rachelt1 Says:

    I celebrate Thanksgiving and I am really happy that I do. A lot of people that I know eat around lunch time but I usually eat at like 6:30. Like a dinner time. In my Sunday school class, we were talking about the same traditions and this one kid named Adam makes candy turkeys the day before. I don’t have any “big” traditions. The only one that i really know would be that basically everyone in my family comes to my house. I guess it is because we have the biggest house in the family and the most amount of people living in a house. It is kind of bad because usually my family (being the hosts) has to cook most of the Thanksgiving dinner. Another small tradition we have is we always say grace before any dinner. But, for Thanksgiving dinner we have one person say that we are thankful for all of this food after we say our usual grace.

    Happy Thanksgiving!!!

    ~ Rachel

  7. silvias1 Says:

    The tradition in my family is that everyone comes to durham, and we have a BIG party. It has everyone that can come in my family and we eat dinner and dessert, talking about the funny things that have happened over the year.

  8. aylak1 Says:

    The tradition in my family is, well, we don’t have a tradition so we never know what to do, and my mom is always really stresed out. but, she manges to invite more than 20 people adn then she has people to talk to so she is fine, but now my dad (who cooks) is stressed out.

    ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

